Skip to content

WHY?! WHY?!!

September 1, 2010

Been thinking about starting a blog for awhile now, but it took awhile to make a decision. I’ve never really felt all that compelled to keep a journal or share my thoughts on the internet. However, a couple of things changed that:

First, I got into stand-up comedy. Learning this craft really is a journey, and in the two years I`ve been at it, I hardly recognize myself from before. Rather than wake up ten years from now and have it all be a blur, I thought it would be a gas to have some kind of record of what the experience was like.

Secondly, I get IN to stuff, and stand-up is no exception. To date, I’ve read just about every book on stand-up there is to read, including some that are so boring I actually felt like crying. (I’m looking at you, Stand-up Comedy in Theory, or, Abjection in America). I religiously follow stand-up theory blogs such as Matt Ruby`s excellent Sandpaper Suit, and I love talking theory with fellow comics. To that end I thought the blog could be a good place to stimulate discussion, provide some resources for the community, and promote myself and others.

The plan is to update three times a week. Mondays will feature a post on stand-up theory, Wednesdays are all about shout outs to a professional or amateur comic that I think is hilarious with samples of their work and interesting trivia about their career. Fridays I’ll post some kind of resource, whether it be a review, useful links to other blogs and forums, or open mike listings.

If you enjoy what you see, join the discussion. I want this blog to be about community – people coming together to help and learn from each other. So please, if a topic grabs your attention, plop down your two cents.

It all begins on Monday. Take it away, Sam:

One Comment leave one →
  1. marilyn buxton permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:03 pm

    where do you get all the energy to do stuff like this? I’m sure there is a lot to learn from your website. did i say you can do things half-assed?

Leave a Reply

