Skip to content

Shout Outs to Rodney Dangerfield

September 8, 2010

I wasn’t sure what comic to profile for the first shout out segment, but watching a classic scene from Ladybugs again recently,

(yeah, that’s right, I enjoyed Ladybugs, what of it?!) I realized there was no choice at all. I’d like to dedicate today’s post to comedy legend Rodney Dangerfield. RIP, boss.

Wow, I love this guy. My buddy Robo recently gave me his autobiography as a gift, and man, is it AWESOME. What a rotten childhood he had. What a punishing life. Did you know that he quit stand-up for about ten years before getting back into it and becoming the household name he is today? Whenever I find myself feeling down about my progression in comedy, I remember the epic life this guy led, and at the end of it how he had become one of the funniest stand up comedians I’ve ever seen.

The combination of self-deprecation, one liners and his everyman quality all came together perfect in Rodney. While he often played the misogynist during his act, he was actually a very sweet and caring man. I have literally never seen any comic talk shit about him – and he’s talked about a LOT. In fact, it seems like they all have a story of his generosity or intense work ethic. He was the guy who believed in Jim Carrey and took him under his wing when Carrey was bombing EVERY show.

Enjoy some clips of the man at work:

Further Reading:

Rodney on imdb. I recommend his film Back to School if only for the “Triple Lindy” scene, which has maybe the most hilariously obvious use of an extra I’ve ever encountered:

Rodney’s book

Agree? Disagree? Lemme know.

Leave a Reply

