Skip to content

Your $0.02

January 10, 2011

Hey everyone,

It’s been almost half a year of producing Premise PUNCH Tag, and I have been enjoying the journey immensely.  I started this blog with the goal of creating a website that I wish existed when I started performing stand-up comedy.  It’s been really cool to watch the readership grow and get email from comics around the world letting me know that it has been of some use. 

This week I am hoping to start a dialogue for what kind of topics people would like to see covered by this blog in the future.  I still have quite a few topics that I would like to cover, but I also work in a bit of a bubble.  If there are topics you’d like to read about, now is your chance to throw your hat into the ring. 

I’ve set up the comments so that you can comment anonymously.  I am really hoping people will take this opportunity to give some feedback and suggest topics for future articles.  Also, I would be remiss to mention that if you are involved in comedy and are interested in writing a guest article, drop me a line.  In the coming weeks I am looking forward to posting some guest articles from great writers in the Toronto community that have been in the oven.  

Anyways, if you’ve been reading and enjoying, now is your opportunity to take another step and get involved.  What kind of topics would you like to see explored?  What comics would you like to see profiled?  What resources would you like shared?  I’m listening.

PS I know this is kind of a cop out for a theory post, but I’ve been dumping a lot of time into next week’s topic, which I think will be controversial and pretty fun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 1:49 pm

    Hey Joel,
    I think it’d be cool to see an article on how stand-up has changed over the last few decades. Styles, topics, language etc. Maybe from the Lenny Bruce generation forward. Influence is Evolution (Whoa, I jus made that up right now and im kinda impressed with myself. ..and my dad thought I wouldn’t amount to nuthin) Anyway, thats my 2¢. If you could possibly give me back some change though?,..im kinda broke.
    Hugh Black.

    • January 11, 2011 12:50 pm

      Thanks Hugh, that’s a super cool idea. I have been thinking of developing a stand-up comedy timeline with major events that would connect really nicely with that topic. I think this afternoon I’ll head over to A Special Thing and see if anyone wants to brainstorm major events as a jumping off point.

  2. Dave permalink
    January 11, 2011 8:59 am

    I like your posts about how you develop material for your act, write jokes, transmute ideas into something you can use. It’s interesting to see how your process unfolds as you take the raw material and spin it into comedy gold.

    • January 11, 2011 12:49 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Dave. I definitely want to look at the writing process in more detail. Hopefully I can get a guest poster or two to outline their writing process and give some variety.

Leave a Reply

