Skip to content

Couch Surfing

January 14, 2011

Happy Friday everyone, I got lots of sleep last night.  I feel like I could jump over the moon, and then write a hip-hop musical about Buzz Aldrin.

I cruised the moon and hit a golf ball, son / Small steps, Tang, poppin’ caps with moon guns

But that’s neither here nor there. This week I wanted to share a resource that you may not have known existed called Couchsurfing.org. This is a website that’s set up to connect people who need free places to crash with people who are willing to let someone sleep on their couch for a night or two.

I haven’t needed to use this service yet, but I hear really good things, and it seems like a great idea. I like that you automatically make friends with a cool person, and you will get great local advice about the city, rather than counting on hotel clerks or hostel staff to tell you what’s awesome.

Anyways, I thought this would be some use to all you road comics out there who don’t want to blow half your gig pay on accomodation. Have a good weekend, and if anyone has a couch to crash on in New York, let me know.  I wipe my feet, and I got that hip-hop musical going for me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 1:05 pm

    Hey Joel,

    Love the blog, keep up the good work!

    An alternative to couch surfing is airbnb.com – basically people rent out their spare rooms and couches and you can get some really cheap deals – $10 a night for NYC isn’t bad!

Leave a Reply

