Skip to content

Friday is Sketch Day

May 13, 2011

Hey everyone,

I am in the process of re-tooling the blog.  I would like to keep Mondays as a theory day, but shout-outs have been difficult to keep going.  I would like to profile amateur comics at this point, as me just listing my favourite professionals seems like a poor use of writing time.  SO.  I’ll say this.  Email me, I will email you back with 10-12 questions, and we’ll do a profile.  Otherwise, see you Mondays and Fridays. i.e. see you tomorrow when this whole re-tooling thing gets underway.

Speaking of Fridays, I was running out of resources to share and at a bit of a loss at what to do with the day.  At this point I am thinking about talking a little bit about sketch comedy.  I know it is not directly stand-up related, but there are many over-lapping aspects.

Having recently started writing and performing with a sketch group, this has become a big part of my life, and I am learning a lot.

On Fridays I hope to post a sketch from a recent Sunday Night Live, and maybe chat a little bit about the process.  We’ll see how it goes.

Thoughts: This week’s sketch is “Schwistle,” a sketch I wrote to work on scene structure. This one is very dear to my heart because it involves a little ditty written by my good chum Chris Saker.  I borrowed the tune and wrote a sketch around it, that essentially celebrates my love of whistles.  

MVP Moment: The way Daryn turns around when I call him the heart of darkness.

Fun fact: the ocarina used in this sketch is one of about ten I own. The flute and keytar are also unfortunately mine.

Anyways, every fracking week we write a brand new hour and a half show.  You should come see it sometime.  9:30pm at Comedy Bar in Toronto (945 Bloor St. West, Delaware Exit from Ossington Station).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

