Skip to content

Shout-Outs to Women in Comedy

May 17, 2011

I’ve been thinking about women a lot lately.

I just realized how creepy that sounds. Not sexy women. Strong women.


Smart women.  Funny women. Which, to be fair, I guess are qualities I do find sexy in females.  So I guess I’m half-creep.

This guy is full-monty creep.

What I mean is I’ve been re-visiting my perceptions of women in comedy. It’s no secret that people like Tina Fey, Sarah Silverman, Amy Poehler, Kristen Wiig and Maya Rudolph are all tearing it up right now. Bridesmaids just came out, with a score of 89% on Rotten Tomatoes, Vanity Fair did a great article on women in comedy – it just seems to be a hot topic right now, and that suits me just fine.

I just finished reading “Bossypants,” Tina Fey’s new book (thanks for the lend D Mac). I really enjoyed it, not just because I enjoy her comedic voice and writing, but also because she takes a sober look at how females are treated in show business (full disclosure: I am also madly in love with her, but who isn’t?). I was grateful that she kept the tone light, and found a way to explore women’s issues in a way that was entertaining and candid.

One of my favourite parts is when she is describing a moment of panic when she had to touch her own eye. She compares it to losing the string of a tampon if you’re a female, and for guys… well… touching your eye.

I really enjoyed that approach.  She shared a real detail that men don’t have to experience without being angry or pointed about it.  To me that’s the height of gender equality.  When we finally reach a point where we understand our gender differences and it’s no big deal.  And I think comedy is such a great way to break down those walls.

Here is an interview she did on Letterman to promote the book.

Finally, today my friend Megan Fraser posted this Article in the New York Magazine written by Roseanne, another amazing female talent.

Here is a clip of Roseanne on The Tonight Show. It’s hard to express just how difficult it was for female comics to be booked on the show at this time. Roseanne was just that crazy awesome.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    May 17, 2011 8:05 pm

    Chelsea Handler?

    • May 19, 2011 2:02 pm

      Yes, I definitely missed dropping her name. Do you want to throw up a youtube link so people can check her out?

  2. Heather permalink
    May 19, 2011 7:21 pm

    Yes!! There are so many good ones… But:

Leave a Reply

