Skip to content

Call to Arms: Share Your First Time Stand-Up Stories

May 30, 2011

I am gearing up for a theory article on first stand-up sets. I will be discussing my experiences that very first set, some of the fears and triumphs that occurred that fateful eve.

But I am just a single person, and my experiences are not universal.  I thought I would put out a call to see if anyone wanted to share their first time stand-up comedy stories, so I could include different perspectives in the article.

So let me know how your first set went, whether you killed, bombed, or got a three movie contract.  Doesn’t have to be long, a couple sentences will do.

I will be sure to promote you if your story is included in the theory article, and you’ll be helping aspiring comics see what they’re getting into, good or bad.

You’ve got a week, email me at joelbuxton22 at gmail.com or just leave a comment to this post.  Let’s make this a good one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 9:51 am

    My first set was my Second City student show at Absolute Comedy. About 150 audience, including 20 or so friends from work. My first joke was a shocker and absolutely killed. They laughed so hard and long at the first joke that I actually started to worry onstage I wouldn’t be able to tell a second joke! Anybody who says that women aren’t funny hasn’t seen me, and yes, that is a challenge boys.

  2. Hoodo permalink
    June 4, 2011 1:57 pm

    My first time was amazing even though I was shitting my pants before going on stage! I was performing at the Yuk Yuks in Ottawa. Anyway, my first couple of jokes KILLED (I know they killed b/c it was just this raucous laughter that filled the room and there was an applause break). The rest was blah! But still, I got enough laughs to keep going at it!

Leave a Reply

