Skip to content

Friday is Sketch Day – “Sell-out”

July 1, 2011

SPOOKY HOCKEY TGIF!

I’m always on the hunt for bizarre TGIF images, but honestly, what the hell does this even mean?

First thing’s first, tonight I will be performing in a neat show called the Jekyll and Hyde show at Comedy Bar.  Same show, performed twice, once properly, and once not properly, if you get my drift.  It’s a huge, goofy, hilarious time, come on out.

Today’s sketch was one I wrote for Ashley Comeau when she came to host.  She is a very strong performer who is currently part of the mainstage cast at Second City, and I was really pumped to do a scene together.  It’s pretty silly, and mostly revolves around a music joke, but I really had a blast yelling “Girl!” at the top of my lungs, and wearing a mullet wig.

What I Learned: If you plan to play a guitar onstage, make sure you got good peeps like Ali Wylie to hand it off from backstage.  Also, singing for the first time in a scene is a good way to make sure you’re terrified all night leading up to it.

Fun Fact: I once was actually working on a love song and tragically discovered that it ripped off Harry Chapin’s Cats in the Cradle.  The shame, the shame.

Favourite Moment: Definitely that wacky wig that Ashley is sporting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

