Skip to content

What’s New Witchoo?

September 28, 2011

I’m glad I made the choice to put the blog on haitus for a bit, because the last few months have been very intense for me as a stand-up comic.  If I had to describe it, I would say that it reminds me of when insects shed an exoskeleton, then a new one hardens.  During this time they are a bit vulnerable, and have to ride it out until the new shell hardens, stronger and bigger than before.

I feel like that’s what’s been happening in my life as a stand-up.  I have been re-examining the art form, and what it means to me, as well as taking some major risks onstage in order to hone in on what I want my voice to be.

Aside from physically needing a break from the workload that long theory articles require, I simply don’t feel comfortable offering advice at a time like this, as it is a tumultuous time.

Anyways.  I’m looking at getting back to regular posts sometime at the end of November, and a new format, where the articles aren’t so long and far between.  In October I will probably post an article after the Louis CK in Toronto, because I’m sure I’ll have a lot of thoughts about that.

Thanks to my good friend Catherine McCormick for a shout-out on her wicked blog, thanks to everyone who is still using the site.  I always intended this thing as a poor man’s wikipedia to stand-up comedy, so it’s good to see people still use it even though there aren’t regular updates right now.

Okay peace peace peace, go watch some comedy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

