Skip to content

RIP Crown and Tiger

September 30, 2011

BUXTON SAD.

It is with a heavy heart that I say goodbye to the basement of the Crown and Tiger.  It was one of my favourite rooms in the city, and where I learned what it means to be part of the stand-up community.

When I was first starting out, desperately clawing for stage time, this guy Ian Atlas had just moved to Toronto from BC and was trying to get some shows going.  Despite me sucking shit, he let me go up, and since then has provided many many opportunities to perform for myself and tons of comics.

It was the home base for the Toronto Comedy Brawl, which has kept growing in scope every year.

It was a place where, more often than not, my favourite comics in the city would gather and trade stories, jokes, and ideas about this unique art form.

Hell, this year for my birthday, Ian gave me the keys to the basement for the night so I could run a show and hang out, and even some money to get this loaded:



So thank you Crown and Tiger, you had amazing staff, an amazing, smelly basement, and a million memories.  I will miss you.  And thank you Ian.  Many of us owe you a debt of gratitude for creating a space in this city for comics to grow.

Obviously I have updated the open mike listing to reflect this news, which can be found here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

