Skip to content

Been awhile…

April 10, 2012

Hey dudes,

It’s been awhile since I wrote an article for this blog.  The truth is, as I gain experience at stand-up, I see more grey areas, and have become uncomfortable offering advice beyond the basics.  Right now I just want to focus on the craft and save the theory discussions for after sets with fellow comedians.

I’ve received positive feedback regarding some of the articles for noob comics, so I decided to leave the blog up.  Just to make things easier for people I’m just going to list the most popular/useful articles here.  Explore the rest of the blog at your leisure.

Toronto Open Mic Listing

Taking the Plunge: First Stand-up Comedy Sets Part 1 Part 2

Thou Shalt Not Be a Douch: Open Mic Etiquette Part 1 Part 2

Keep On Keepin’ On: Motivation in Stand-up Comedy Part 1 Part 2

You SUCK Buddy: The Art of Heckling Part 1 Part 2

When Comics Fail: How I Learned to Love The Bomb Part 1 Part 2

If you ever want to chat about any of this stuff, let’s do it in person.  You can always find me at Comedy Bar (945 Bloor St. W) 9pm on Wednesday nights for the HUGE Chuckle Co. stand-up shows which I help host and produce, or Sundays at 9pm for Sunday Night Live (A weekly, brand new sketch comedy show with house band, and musical guests) featuring my pals The Sketchersons.

You can find more of my comedy writing at humour blog Bite.ca, and satirical newspaper The Beaverton

And this is me on Twitter.

So remember, this isn’t a break-up, I’m still around.  I just won’t be posting too much anymore.  Thanks everyone for the love and support, I hope this blog provides a resource that I wished was around when I started doing comedy.

Image

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 5:41 pm

    Hey Joel,

    I know what you mean about not wanting to give advice about comedy. Although I write about lessons learned, they’re all personal lessons. Moreover, I now find myself disagreeing with many of the things I thought I learned from in the past.

    For example, when I discovered the Premise-Punchline-Tag theory, I thought I discovered the science of comedy. But over the past 4 months, what I’ve realized is that my funniest jokes are the ones that have gone off the rails structure-wise. In addition, I’ve learned that adding too much structure leaves me to act rigidly on stage.

    Keep up the good work, man! This was the first blog I went to when I started, and it’s been an invaluable resource ever since.

    Michael Jagdeo

  2. December 12, 2014 10:32 am

    It’s also been a while since you haven’t posted anything. I used to check this blog regularly until you stopped updating it. Maybe you can start posting again?

Leave a Reply

